Brighton Student Guide – Where can I study?


Where can I study?

The former West Pier at sunset.

There are two Universities in Brighton: the University of Sussex and the University of Brighton. The University of Brighton is the largest university in the city and is home to around 21,000 students. The University is spread across several sites and includes campuses in Falmer, Moulsecoomb, Eastbourne and Hastings. The faculty of Art and Design is particularly well known and has a reputation for producing successful artists, illustrators and graphic designers.

The University of Sussex was established in 1961 and is located close to the city centre between Stanmer Park and Falmer. The University is connected to the centre of Brighton by frequent trains and a network of 24-hour buses. The university is home to a population of around 12,000 of which around 70% are undergraduates. The Times Higher Education World University Rankings currently places the University of Sussex 99th in the world. Sussex is particularly famous for its world-leading chemistry department.

The city of Brighton and Hove has a significant number of businesses involved in media, particularly digital media, and this is reflected by the popularity of media related courses at both universities. The Universities of Brighton and Sussex joined together to form a medical school in 2003, the school is known as Brighton and Sussex Medical School and is one of four new schools created as part of a government initiative to increase the number of qualified NHS professionals. The school is located in Falmer and has strong links with the Brighton and Sussex University Hospital NHS Trust.

Related Articles

Brighton Student Guide- An overview

Leave a Comment

Filed under Student City Guides

Comments are closed.