Cardiff Student Guide – Where can I study?


Where can I study?

Castle Green at Cardiff Castle.

There are three universities in Cardiff: Cardiff University, Cardiff Metropolitan University and the University of Glamorgan. Cardiff University is a leading research university and has a student population of over 30,000. The university can be found in the area of Cathays Park and received a Royal Charter in 1883. Cardiff University is a member of the Russell Group and has a strong reputation for providing a high quality of research based educational programmes. The Complete University Guide positioned Cardiff as 41st in the 2011 university league tables. Cardiff shows its strengths in the fields of humanities, social sciences, engineering and technology.

Cardiff Metropolitan University (also known as UWIC) offers places of study to over 12,000 students and is spread over three campuses: Llandaff, Cyncoed and Howard Gardens. The university offers a variety of different courses at undergraduate and postgraduate levels. The university is made up of five academic schools: The School of Art and Design, Education, Health Science, Management and Sport. The Complete University Guide ranks Cardiff Metropolitan University as 59th in the 2011 university league tables.

The University of Glamorgan is based in Pontypridd but has a campus in Cardiff called Atrium. The campus forms the Cardiff School of Creative and Cultural Industries (or CCI) and offers a range of design and media related facilities including a TV and radio studio, 180 seat theatre and computer labs. The University of Glamorgan formed an alliance with the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama in 2006. The college is located in Cardiff and provides education and training to nearly 700 students in the performing arts.

Related Articles

Cardiff Student Guide – An overview

Leave a Comment

Filed under Student City Guides

Comments are closed.