Edinburgh Student Guide – Where can I study?


Where can I study

Edinburgh Castle.

There are four universities in Edinburgh: University of Edinburgh, Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh Napier University and Queen Margaret University.

The University of Edinburgh is the largest university in the city and is home to over 28,000 students. The university is a public research university and is the only Scottish university to be a member of the Russell Group and the League of European Research Universities. Edinburgh University receives nearly 50,000 applications every year, making it the third most popular university choices in the UK. The university has a world-renowned reputation for providing an excellent level of tuition, particularly in the fields relating to art, veterinary medicine, linguistics, chemistry and mathematics.

Heriot-Watt University is a teaching and research university and provides places of study to over 9,000 students. The university is the eighth oldest higher education institution in the UK and was founded in 1821. Heriot-Watt is known for offering vocational degrees often leading to engineering or business roles. The main campus at Heriot-Watt is located in Riccarton and is spread over 380 acres. Facilities at this campus include a postgraduate centre, sports facilities and Europe’s oldest research park.

Edinburgh Napier University is home to around 17,000 students and is spread over 4 main campuses. Sighthill Campus is the university’s centre for health, life and social sciences and includes a crime scene scenario room and a biomechanics laboratory. Craiglockhart Campus is home to the Business School and includes facilities relating to the practice of law in business. The Merchiston Campus is designated as home to the Faculty of Computing, Engineering and Creative Industries. Craighouse Campus is the fourth main campus at Edinburgh Napier University and is home to the School of Arts and Creative Industries.

Queen Margaret University provides places of study to around 5,000 students and is home to the Schools of Arts and Social Sciences, School of Business, Enterprise and Management and the School of Health Sciences. The university also has 5 research centres.

Related Articles

Edinburgh Student Guide – An overview

Leave a Comment

Filed under Student City Guides

Comments are closed.