Lancaster Student Guide – Where can I study?


Where can I study?

The Ruskin Library.

Lancaster is home to two universities: Lancaster University and a campus from the University of Cumbria. Lancaster University is the largest university in the city and provides places of study to over 12,000 students every year. The university is divided into four faculties: Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, The School of Health and Medicine, The Faculty of Science and Technology, and The Faculty of Management.

The main campus at Lancaster University is the Bailrigg campus, 3 miles from the city centre. Bailrigg covers an area of 200 acres and sits on a hilltop in landscaped parkland. The campus is designed to integrate social, residential and teaching areas and encourage social interactions between students. The university expanded the campus in 1998 to form South-west Campus, which sits on the lower slopes of Bailrigg.

Every summer, Lancaster University meets with the University of York to compete in The Roses Tournament. The name comes from ‘The War of the Roses’, the 15th Century civil war between Lancaster and York. Both universities compete in a vast range of sports including rugby, basketball, hockey, archery and tae kwon do.

Lancaster University has a reputation for academic excellence and consistently performs well in the national and international league tables. In 2012, The Times Higher Education World University Rankings placed Lancaster University 131st in the world’s top 400 universities. In the same year, the university was positioned 9th in The Complete University Guide’s national league tables.

The University of Cumbria is based mainly in Cumbria. However, the university has campuses in Lancaster, Ambleside, Barrow-in-Furness, Penrith and London. Facilities at the Lancaster campus include a multi-purpose sports hall, fitness suite, Student Union offices and a bar.

Related Articles

Lancaster Student Guide – An overview

Leave a Comment

Filed under Student City Guides

Comments are closed.