Plymouth Student Guide – Where can I study?


Where can I study?

The Roland Levinsky Building at the University of Plymouth.

Plymouth is home to two universities: University of Plymouth and University College Plymouth St Mark and St John. The University of Plymouth is the city’s largest university and provides places of study to over 30,000 students every year. The university is the largest in South West England and the 9th largest in the UK. The main campus of the university is in the centre of Plymouth, but the university also has campuses spread throughout the south of England. The University of Plymouth enjoys a strong reputation, particularly in the fields relating to Marine and Environmental Sciences, Robotics and Computer Science, Architecture and Engineering. The university places a considerable focus on enterprise and employability, preparing students for entrepreneurial leadership and to be effective employees capable of making valuable contributions in their chosen field.

The University of Plymouth is organised into six faculties: Faculty of Arts, Faculty of Health, Education and Society, Faculty of Science and Technology, Plymouth Business School, Peninsula College of Medicine and Dentistry and the University of Plymouth Colleges Faculty, which partners the university with local colleges. The university performs well in the national league tables and in 2012, was placed 53rd by The Complete University Guide.

The University College Plymouth St Mark and St John (often referred to as Marjon), is based at a small campus a few miles from the centre of Plymouth City. The university is home to over 5,000 students, studying a range of BA and BSc degrees. The university’s strengths are in the fields of education and sport.

Related Articles

Plymouth Student Guide – An overview

Leave a Comment

Filed under Student City Guides

Comments are closed.