Tag Archives: the university of leicester

Leicester Student Guide – Where can I study?


Where can I study?

Student flats.

Leicester is home to two universities: the University of Leicester, and De Montford University.  De Montford University is the larger of the two and provides places of study to around 21,000 students every year. De Montford University is a public research and teaching university and can be found in the centre of Leicester, along the River Soar. The university enjoys an excellent reputation particularly in fields relating to research. In fact, the Research Assessment Exercise recently voted 40% of the university’s research as ‘world leading’ or ‘internationally excellent’.

De Montford University offers great views of Leicester Castle and the 15th Century Magazine Gateway. Many of the campus facilities are contained within listed buildings, including Trinity House, which was originally constructed in the 14th century. The university has seen several recent developments including the £35 million Hugh Aston Building for Business and Law students. The university is organised into four faculties: Faculty of Art, Design and Humanities, Faculty of Business and Law, Faculty of Health and Life Sciences, and the Faculty of Technology. There is an additional Institute of Creative Technologies, which provides places of study to MA students.

The University of Leicester is home to around 15,000 students and is a research-orientated university in the centre of the city. The university has established itself as one of the leading research universities in the UK and consistently ranks within the top, in the national league tables. In 2012, The Complete University Guide listed Leicester University as 23rd. The Times Higher Education World University Rankings placed Leicester 197th in the list of top 400 universities in the world.

The University of Leicester is organized into four colleges, which are then organized into smaller schools and departments. The four main colleges in the university are: the College of Arts, Humanities and Law, College of medicine, Biological Sciences and Psychology, College of Science and Engineering, and the College of Social Science.

Related Articles

Leicester Student Guide – An overview

Leave a Comment

Filed under Student City Guides